ICQ revolution

I’ve finally made the change I’ve tried to make for quite a long time: I’m no longer using plain old buggy ICQ 2003b! I’ve switched to QIP, a brand new ICQ client appeared recently.  And I managed to solve the main problem I was facing: how to convert history. It is a two-step process:

  1. Get an official converter from ICQ and convert your History Database to ICQ 2005 format (took about 20 mins for me)
  2. Get a QIP history converter and convert your ICQ 2005 history to QIP one (another half an hour)

Everything went smoothly finally but several files (in ICQ 2005, history is stored one-file-per-user-per-month) were not processed due to invalid symbols there… Fortunately the ones I didn’t need much.

Anyway, now I’m a new happy QIP user and life looks just a bit nicer…

Leave a comment